The demise of the paper doyley

It never occurred to me that the hardest part of embarking on a butterfly mobile craft project would be tracking down the paper doyleys I wanted to use to make the card top that bit more interesting. I, very naively, assumed I would be able to buy them from the same craft shop I found my felt in – a very sizeable store in stockport – but no luck whatsoever. In fact, every shop assistant I asked looked at me blankly, as though I were speaking in tongues.

From there, my long-suffering boyfriend drove me many, many miles to the Trafford Centre, a gigantic shopping mall with architecture slightly reminiscent of the Middle East where I was absolutely certain that my search would end and I would be the proud owner of the elusive doyley. Sadly, this was not to be – John Lewis, W H Smith, Debenhams, Marks & Spencer, all of them proved entirely useless and, as before, when assistants were questioned about the whereabouts of these clearly endangered paper delights I was always met with the reply, “I’m not sure what they are”.

After a day of trekking around Manchester and getting progressively irritated with the dearth of doyleys, my boyfriend and I gave up and returned to his mother’s house – where we immediately found one in a kitchen drawer! Apparently, paper doyleys are endemic to Sainsbury’s so, if you want to get your hands on one without first becoming an intrepid retail park explorer, the like of which would put even Ranulph Fiennes to shame, make sure you head there first.

Comments
5 Responses to “The demise of the paper doyley”
  1. Amy Davies says:

    I’ve got tons of doilies, you can get them in Lakeland, paperchase and rossiter’s, as well as finding an abundance on eBay :-)

    • Sarah Adie says:

      rah, of course! eBay! Why didn’t I think of that? Unfortunately, I’m not one to wait for things really – I want them when I want them and I was on a doyley mission…after going into ten shops, I was loathe to abandon my plans. Never admit defeat! Also, did you know that it’s national baking week? You should do something to celebrate!

  2. Leanne Wren says:

    Make a cake and put one on top and sieve icing sugar over and it will leave a pretty pattern on the top!

    • Sarah Adie says:

      That’s a great idea – unfortunately my baking skills are somewhat rubbish. Perhaps I shall make a yummy one for my birthday, however! And then I can trial your doyley idea. Or you can make me a cake for my birthday and show me how it’s done! (good plan, I like cake, yum!)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] 2 paper doilies (Sainsbury’s is your best bet, as I spent a LONG time [...]



Have your say

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 844 other followers

