I heart you pancakes

What’s better than pancakes hot off the stove and drizzled in maple syrup? Heart-shaped pancakes, of course! Yum, yum, yum.

Recipe time!

Ingredients:

- 120g plain flour

- 2 eggs

- Pinch of salt

- 210ml milk

- 90ml water

- Red food dye

Method:

- Mix your salt and flour in a bowl and make a well

- Crack both eggs into the well and mix

- Add your water and milk gradually, stirring as you go

- Add your food dye until you get a colour you’re happy with

- Batter up! Fry both sides in a bit of butter then turn out onto a plate

- Cut out heart shapes, lay them out right nice on the plate and sit back to watch as your other half enjoys the lot.

Hot tip:

Use liquid dye rather than gel. The colour will come up better and you won’t end up with pancakes with a weird hue. (I think mine look a little bit like uncooked bacon. Appetising!)

What are you cooking up for Valentine’s Day?

Comments
4 Responses to “I heart you pancakes”
  1. Practice Practice Practice! hahah My husband makes fun of me for going through bags & bags of flour trying to get a recipe just right!

    I think so far I have some Raspberry Scone Cookies, Strawberry I love You pancakes with home Made strawberry sauce, and a Raspberry Sweet Heart Cookie.

    I’m still coming up with a few more. I’ll be posting them soon!

  2. Looks Great! I’m working on a special Valentines day Breakfast myself that includes some panny cakes!

    • Sarah Adie says:

      Thanks! I’m a bit dubious about the colour, but they did taste lovely. At least I have time to perfect the dye job before the big day. What else are you cooking for your breakfast?

Have your say

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 845 other followers

