Butterflies for babies

Butterfly mobileI’d love to take the credit for this gorgeous butterfly mobile but, to tell the God’s honest truth, I never considered working with felt before I happened across this most perfect of blogs, Bugs and Fishes. Prior to seeing what magic tricks Laura Lupin can do, felt was something of a sorepoint for me – a bit like chewing cotton wool, it always felt a bit strange between my fingers and, oftentimes, I would break out into something of a disgusted shiver when handling it.

But then I saw her butterfly mobile and knew I had to make it for my two friends’ beautiful new babies, Mason and Lyra. I borrowed her butterfly template and got to work – and it was so easy that I recommend everyone has a go!

I made double-sided butterflies and stuck them together with PVA glue – Laura sewed hers but I found glue worked just as well and was much cheaper as I didn’t have to buy lots of different coloured threads. And the little felt balls I bought over the internetĀ – there are lots of sites to choose from. Enjoy!

Butterfly mobile 2 Butterfly mobile 3

Comments
2 Responses to “Butterflies for babies”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you want a more feminine version, then check out this butterfly mobile I made a few years ago – just as cool and just as easy to do. Don’t say I never give you […]

  2. […] you have time on your side, however, then give this butterfly felt mobile a go – it’s […]



Have your say

