Diary of a Novice Knitter – Day 2

Wool - the bane of my life

Today I thought I knew it all and decided not to listen to my old-hat knitter of a mother who very wisely told me not to continue knitting with one colour if it looks like you don’t have enough.

Truth be told, however, if you’ve never done it before, it’s actually quite difficult to tell just how much wool actually makes up three lines of a scarf, so I blithely thought, ‘I’ve definitely got more than enough. I’ll carry on, it’ll be fine’. Whoops.

Turns out that mothers actually do know best and it’s generally a good idea to err on the side of caution and assume you don’t have enough wool if there’s even the slightest doubt about the matter. Not my chosen course of action, I ended up having to very carefully pull out my turquoise stitches and then rehook all my dark blue ones. Quite possibly the saddest day of my life. However, I’m ultimately quite glad for the turn of events as I now know how to rehook stitches without losing any and have learned that it’s not the end of the world if unravelling and reknitting has to take place.

That said, I’m not quite man enough yet to pick up my knitting once more and start a new ball of wool. I shall save that for another, braver day. Till then, crafty ones.

Comments
2 Responses to “Diary of a Novice Knitter – Day 2”
  1. Dearest Sarah,
    This is wonderful! Thank You!

    Blessings!
    Julia

Have your say

