The wedding book

So there it is – the best scrapbook I have made thus far. I went with a polka dot theme because that was the motif Harriet had vaguely running throughout the day, inspired by the dots on her dress. The cake was quite dotty and the ribbon – which, after I quickly salvaged some before the big clean up took place, appears in the book itself – that was used to tie guests’ name tags to their chairs was polka dotted as well. Other items taken from the wedding itself included the table favours and some ribbon from the car – I also managed to find some blue card the exact colour of the bridesmaids’ dresses to do the lettering with. Result!

While I like the theme and think it’s very sweet, I will certainly be choosing something a bit more complex next time, as it transpires that there is only so much you can do with a simple dot. I often ranted at my lack of inspiration in trying to make each page substantially different from the last, but I think I pulled it off.

Craft-wise, I’ve also learned a lot from making this book – it’s fair to say that the beginning isn’t as good as the end and I had to go back to the start to add some more detailing in to make it tie in better with the last few pages, but overall I think it works and I was sad (although happy as well, obviously) to give it to Harriet at Christmas. I’m happy to say I’m now amazing at making mitred corners and paper flowers – both very valuable skills.

Equipment used:

  • Craft knife/metal ruler/pencil
  • Scissors
  • PVA glue
  • Glue dots (great invention)
  • 3D foam squares (an even better invention)
  • Lots of paper from Paperchase
  • Ribbon
  • 1, 5 and 10 pence pieces before I bought a compass
  • Compass
  • Coffee (for the all-nighters)

So…what do you think?

Comments
6 Responses to “The wedding book”
  1. Really awesome scrapbook! Gets me motivated to start mine! TFS

  2. Esther Armstrong says:

    This is awesome Mushy Pea!! I love it – anyone would be thrilled to receive such a gift. xx

    • Sarah Adie says:

      Aw, thanks Esther! T’was lots of fun to make, although I’ve sworn off scrapbooking for the time being methinks. Different projects beckon. How’s life in London town? xx

Have your say

