All Brussels sprouts are good for…

Ah, the Brussels sprout – probably the most maligned vegetable of them all. I myself cannot stand them. Never have. As a child, when forced to eat one at the Christmas dinner table, I was so repulsed I threw up on the roast potatoes. I think that’s the last time I was in close proximity to this foul beast of the vegetable world. (I hasten to add I’m not a fussy eater, I’m a supertaster. Yes, that’s a thing – and a rather fantastic excuse!)

But – everything’s changed this year and I bought my first-ever bunch of sprouts on the stalk last week. Not to eat. Oh no, that would be way too normal. I believe I’ve found the only use for the sprout, which I think will be emulated up and down the country for Christmases to come. Check out my sprouty wreath, it’s the bomb!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s how to work the sprout magic:

Equipment:

– Wreath ring and oasis

– Lots of leaves (I foraged for mine in the local park)

– Spray paint (I went with bronze)

– Brussels sprouts (Two bushels were enough for my wreath)

– Florist’s wire

Method:

– Dry out your leaves and then coat with spray paint

– Once dry, stuff into the outer edge of the oasis, padding out as you go so there aren’t any holes

– Stick some wire into a sprout and attach it to the oasis, continuing until you have no room for any more.

Job done! How very festive!

Comments
7 Responses to “All Brussels sprouts are good for…”
  1. Pooky says:

    Yiure a total nutter. But I love it. It’s beautiful. X

    • Sarah Adie says:

      Thanks! I love it too! Will have to top it next year, I saw a lovely one made of Christmas baubles – except baubles are v expensive and if I’m going to buy them, they’re going on the tree! Have you got a wreath this year?

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    Try my Scraped Sprouts recipe. First boil the sprouts in heavily salted water for 40 minutes. Drain and scrape the offending vegetable into the bin. Best place for them.
    Conor

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] All Brussels sprouts are good for… (blackcatoriginals.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] All Brussels sprouts are good for… (blackcatoriginals.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] All Brussels sprouts are good for… (blackcatoriginals.wordpress.com) […]



Have your say

