…Because it’s Pancake Day

Once, many moons ago, I made my merry way over to New York. But no planes, trains or automobiles for me. Oh no, only the best for the Black Cat and I travelled on board the QE2 instead (ooh la la!). Along the way, I had an AMAZING strawberry pancake for breakfast and have wanted to recreate the magic ever since (this was ten years ago. What can I say? Sometimes it takes me a while to get my act together). So here it is and I tell thee, it was worth the wait.

Strawberry sensations:

Ingredients

– 1 cup plain flour

– 1/4 cup wholemeal flour

– 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

– 1 tbsp melted butter

– 1 cup milk

– 2 tbsp sugar

– 2 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 egg

– Strawberries

Method

– Mix your flours, sugar, baking powder and salt together

– Mix the egg, vanilla essence, milk and melted butter together

– Combine the two and pour 1/4 cup of the mixture into a hot frying pan, adding some sliced strawberries

– Cook on both sides, sprinkle with some icing sugar, then get stuck in.

Have your say

