Denim and lace

I’ve got the power! For the first time since I was given my sewing machine at Christmas, I’ve sat myself down, put the pedal to the metal (well, wooden floorboards) and worked up the nerve to make my very first item of clothing. I’ve not done it as a how to for you because I made a ridiculous number of mistakes (like sewing up the arm holes – what an absolute fool!) and because I saw the idea on A Beautiful Mess, one of my favourite blogs, and am in no way a how-to thief!

Anyhoo, here’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for: My first foray into the world of sewing clothes.

Denim in front, lace in back

All I did was cut the back off my denim shirt, measure it out a bit wider on my lace and then sew my lace version back onto the front of the shirt. How do you think I did?

Denim shirt – £20, Pop Boutique

1m of lace – £1.55, Abakhan Fabrics

Have your say

