The Primrose Bakery: Rose biscuits

So a while ago I decided to try and recreate some of the magic to be found in the Primrose Bakery kitchen and make a batch of cookies and cream cupcakes. Cue unmitigated disaster (seriously – just take a look at the photos. The ugliest cupcakes ever?). Afterwards, I put my recipe book back on the shelf in shame and haven’t opened it since.

Until now! I’m planning a vintage tea party for my birthday (21, if you must know…for the ninth year in a row…) and thought these rose biscuits would be the perfect tabletop addition. Certainly much more successful than the cupcake debacle of a few months ago, at any rate, and they are truly delicious – very subtle in flavour.

Recipe time!

Rose biscuits

Ingredients

– 85g unsalted butter

– 100g golden caster sugar

– 1 egg

– 1tbsp rose water

– 200g plain flour

– 1.5tsp baking powder

– Pinch of salt

– Rose water icing

– Honeycomb pieces

Method

– Beat the sugar and butter until pale and creamy, then add the egg and rose water.

– Add the flour, salt and baking powder and beat gently until combined. (Your dough shouldn’t be too sticky at this point.)

– Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for at least an hour.

– Roll out your dough to around 5mm, then cut out your biscuits and bake for 10 minutes at 180 degrees C.

– Once cool, you’re ready for your icing.

Icing

Ingredients

– 450g icing sugar

– 1tsp rose water

– 3tbsp hot water (add a bit at a time, as my icing was really runny)

– Pink food colouring

Method

– Add your rose water to the icing sugar and beat in the hot water to make a stiff paste. Add a drop or two of red food colouring.

– Sandwich two biscuits together with a thin layer of icing and do another thin layer on the top. Add a crystallised rose petal to finish it off (although I used honeycomb, which I think complements the biccies very nicely indeed!)

Can you recommend any great vintage tea party recipes for me to try out before my birthday in October? Inspiration is needed!

Comments
7 Responses to “The Primrose Bakery: Rose biscuits”
  1. Blissfully Vintage says:

    Lovely! Thanks for the link – hope your party goes well! I can recommend drinking cooled Jasmine tea with a little champagne added from vintage tea cups – it’s gorgeous! 🙂

    • Sarah Adie says:

      Oo, that does sound scrumptious! Not too sure about jasmine tea…may have to give it a trial run, kind of have my heart set on drinking raspberry vodka out of jam jars though!!!

  2. oooh, i can’t wait to make these! it will be especially satisfying to drag my bottle of rosewater from the back of the cupboard and use it for the first time in ages 🙂

    • Sarah Adie says:

      What other recipes do you have for rose water? I’ve never used it before – not sure I got my quantities right though, as I couldn’t really taste it!

      • i’ll sometimes add a splash to pie crusts (a baker i know told me she does that) – can’t say it’s really noticeable, but it may boost the sweetness of a sweet crust a bit. apart from that, nothing! it’s one of those things i bought because i had a recipe for it, then lost the recipe…classic.

  3. Yum! My mouth is watering just looking at these! 🙂 Thanks for sharing and thanks for the pingback!

Have your say

