Does my bonce look big in this?

Look at this slouchy beanie I’ve made! Look at just how very slouchy it isn’t! If you’re a regular Black Cat Originals reader, then you will probably know I’ve decided that knitting a Fair Isle jumper by Christmas is an achievable goal.

So far, I’ve made a couple of Fair Isle swatches (no biggie), a ridiculously tiny bit of seamless knitting (which took seven hours) and this most amazing of hats.

I found the pattern on Ravelry and thought, that looks doable. It knits flat so I was only concentrating on my stranding and colourwork and, as you can see, it was all a bit too much for me. I always thought knitting was just a matter of learning a few stitches and following a pattern but, as it turns out, tension’s quite important!

I’ll be giving this failure to my six-month-old nephew since the chances of it fitting anyone else’s head are very remote, but if its ugliness only makes him cry, one of you lot can have it. Just let me know if you want it!

What I learnt making this bad hat

– What to do when you accidentally yarn over

Helpful video number one:

– How to do mattress stitch incorrectly (I ended up with the invisible seam on the inside of my hat… curses!)

– What ribbing is

Helpful video number two:

– How to keep my cool when what I really wanted to do was throw my knitting off the balcony!

Here’s hoping the next time I knit this hat, it goes a lot smoother.

Incidentally, if you want to follow me on my way to knitting glory, I’m doing a monthly knit-a-long with Knit Now magazine over on Ravelry and Twitter. Come and join in the fun – I’m making socks this month but there’s a new project (yet to be announced) starting in September.

Follow me on Twitter: @sarahadie

Find the Ravelry group: Knit Now magazine

Comments
4 Responses to “Does my bonce look big in this?”
  1. Charlie says:

    Well done :o)
    Tension is a lesson we all have to learn – I’ve got a jumper that’s just *slightly* too small because my tension was off. Curse you tension squares…

    • Sarah Adie says:

      Thanks! I’m sure I’ll figure tension out in the end – I plan to knit this hat as many times as it takes to get it right! Hopefully my Christmas jumper will fit… otherwise I’ll cry!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my absolute failure knitting my first hat – which ended up looking like a mushroom and certainly won’t fit any human head – I thought I’d have another go and picked […]

  2. […] Does my bonce look big in this? (blackcatoriginals.wordpress.com) […]



Have your say

