A hat what I made!

Apologies for not blogging about this sooner but this hat has been a bit of a catalogue of errors. Did anyone know that if you do Judy’s Magic Cast-On and it says “cast on 36 stitches”, it doesn’t mean 36 stitches on each needle but 36 stitches in total? Nope, me neither.

So I made this gorgeous green vintage thing (called the Mimi Clochette, taken from a back issue of my magazine du jour Knit Now) for my best buddy, finished the brim and then realised (OK, was told) that I’d made it twice as big as it should be. Got out the scissors, chopped my knitting up and started again from scratch.

This was supposed to be a Christmas present and it would have been done on time apart from the great cast-on debacle of 2012. Then, THEN, my pal and I arranged to meet up after Christmas and were snowed off not once but twice, so she only got her little hands on it last week. Fizzgoggling!

Here’s a snap of her looking beautiful in it (although she always looks beautiful. And sorry about image quality – t’was taken on’t phone down’t pub!)…

Leanne!

Comments
3 Responses to “A hat what I made!”
  1. Berenice says:

    aww very lovely hat, love the color and your friend’s smile makes it even prettier! 🙂

  2. Penny Adie says:

    Glorious hat – well done! Remember the wool too xx

Have your say

